Wet and Windy on Black Mountain

The weather for my second day back in the Brecons, was not forecast to be good, with high winds and rain coming in from the west. I initially had planned to activate Waun Fach (GW/SW-002) but decided to head further west and attempt Black Mountain (GW/SW-041) on the Welsh boarder.


Parking at the carpark (52.029; -3.108) below Hay Bluff I quickly headed up to the summit, desperate to avoid the rain which seemed to be hovering over the peaks to the west.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

Once at Hay Bluff I joined the Offa’s Dyke path and started towards the activation zone. Almost as soon as I reached the summit (according to my GPS device), the rain started! The wind had also increased considerably and it was difficult to keep upright at times…

IMG_2921  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA#

HF was obviously not an option so I decided to set up the 2m dipole and attach it to my rucksack and use the handie. After calling on 145.500 and spotting myself, I managed to make the 4 required contacts to get my 6 points – just!

bm#2Capture


Conclusions…

  • Good parking and easy access route to the summit

  • Using the 2m dipole as a ‘rucksack’ antenna worked well

Leave a Reply

