Mynydd Carn-y-Cefn GW/SW-014

28th May 2015

Before heading home from Wales I decided to try and activate two more summits, Mynydd Carn-y-Cefn GW/SW-014 and Mynydd Machen GW/SW-030.

After a short drive from Merthyr Tydfil I arrived at the West Monmouthshire Golf Club, the highest golf course in the UK. Parking on the side of the road on the lane leading to the clubhouse, I loaded up and walked around the edge of the golf course and up towards summit.

 

After about 30 minutes I was at the trig point and setting up both the HF and VHF antennas. The summit was very quiet with only one man and his dog (who had been on Pen y Fan when I was operating and recognised me… small world!) and I was soon operating on 20, 40 and 2m with 23 QSOs including 4 S2S.

  IMG_2459 copy

Capture

After a good hour operating, I packed up and head down to the car… unfortunately I tried to take short cut and managed to end up well away from the clubhouse and on the edge of a housing estate! After a friendly local gave me directions I managed to find my way back via main roads.

Conclusions…

  • Very pleasant, quiet summit
  • don’t take ‘short cuts’!!

73 GW1PCR Chris

Leave a Reply

