‘Real’ SOTA in GW Land – Fan Fawr GW/SW-005

26th May 2015


Time for some ‘real’ SOTA activations on the Brecon Beacons!

I arrived at the Car Park opposite the Storey Arms Centre just after noon and although it was very busy, almost all walkers were heading towards Pen y Fan on the ‘tourist trail’. I headed for the adjacent summit of Fan Fawr; GW/SW-005.The initial climb was quite steep but relatively easy-going with the incline following a rough path to the ‘false summit’ of Bryn Du.

The direct route to the top is a very steep path and I decided not to attempt this but find a longer, more gentle climb to the top. In stark contrast to the neighbouring summit, I only met two other walkers and a few soldiers on my way to the top. The views were great, especially across to its taller neighbour.

Once at the summit I quickly set up the Ft817, Sotapole and dipole and ‘spotted’ myself on 20m. My first contact was a S2S with GW6DTN/p on GW/NW-032, my second was KA1R near Boston… a great start! I continued with 8 more contacts on 20m before switching to 40m and quickly making a further 10 QSOs around the UK and Europe.


With the intention of attempting Pen y Fan later in the afternoon, and with the wind starting to blow through me, I began to head back to the car park. I decided to take the more direct route down, which was quite an intense experience and I wouldn’t recommend it in wet or snowy conditions. Back at the car I had a quick bite to eat before setting off to the highest peak in SW land!


For my first ‘proper’ SOTA summit, this was a great experience; good challenging climb, very peaceful and some decent contacts.

Capture


Conclusions…

  • Good Challenging Summit and very quiet (except for some sheep and soldiers!)
  • Beautiful views and an easy 6 points

 73  Chris GW1PCR

Leave a Reply

